Friday, December 28, 2012

Sales Tax Up in 46 Counties

AUGUSTA, GA – Effective January 1, 2013, the tax rate for Richmond County will increase by 1 cent from 7% to 8% due to the passage of the Special District Transportation Sales and Use Tax 2013 (TSPLOST).The voters in our district passed the tax on July 31, 2012.  

Effected Georgia counties include:
Appling, Bleckley, Burke, Candler, Chattahoochee, Clay, Columbia, Crisp, Dodge, Dooly, Emanuel, Evans, Glascock, Hancock, Harris, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Laurens, Lincoln, Macon, Marion, McDuffie, Montgomery, Muscogee, Quitman, Randolph, Richmond, Schley, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taliaferro, Tattnall, Taylor, Telfair, Toombs, Treutlen, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wheeler, Wilcox, and Wilkes.

The tax collection will last for 10 years with the possibility of extension. Many of the projects to be part of the TSPLOST won't finish in a decade and none of the money collected will be use to improve the much needed public transportation. Most projects to be pay by the TSPLOST  were decided by bureaucrats and politicians with little or none public input. 

The only hope is that the body authorized to oversees the money collected will prioritize the projects and put some funding to improve the Augusta Public Transit.  

No comments:

Post a Comment